Baby’s Got Her Blue Jeans On

December 20, 2007

The worst part about having lacroscopic surgery has been that, for the past 3 weeks, I have not been able to wear my blue jeans.  Not because I’m bloated, or I’ve ate too many holiday goodies, but because all my jeans are made to ride where they constantly rubbed the incision just below my belly button.  I have been lost without my jeans.

I’m a blue jean kinda gal. I love them.  I wear them to work, to social engagements, and even to church.  My philosophy about jeans is that you can’t have too many, and that there is no self esteem boost like a pair of good fitting jeans. 

I am constantly buying jeans because I wear them out so quickly.  I’m so particular about my jeans, that when, by some fashion miracle, I find a pair that is “perfect” I stick with them, brand, size and style, until they are no longer on the market, or I find something wrong with them.  My current brand of choice is Saint John’s Bay from JC Penney’s.  Boot cut, stretch, low rise.  They’re not as good fitting as the Levi’s that were last years preferred brand, but they tend to last longer, and cost way less too.    If I play my cards right, I can usually get my Penney’s jeans for $15 a pair, as opposed to $30 (on sale) for Levi’s. 

Don’t tell anyone, but I own “mom jeans”, and colored jeans, I hate them both.  They’re also Saint John’s Bay, and my mom got them for me as a gift.  I reserve these red-headed-step-children of the jean family for wearing around the house, or to the inlaw’s, or anywhere else where I know I won’t be out in public much. 

Why do we call them a “pair” of jeans, when it is only one item?    It makes sense to say “a pair of shoes” or “a pair of socks” because there are two.  You can’t buy just one.  (Although when J and I shopped for his amputee father, we jokingly said we hated to buy him a pair of shoes since he only needed one.) Are jeans a “pair” because there are 2 legs?  If so, why isn’t it “a pair of shirts”?  There are 2 sleeves.

This morning, I put on the old SJB standby’s, just out of curiosity, and they feel great.  I’m now back in my blue jeans, and all is right with the world!  Yay!

4 Responses to “Baby’s Got Her Blue Jeans On”

  1. Brian Says:

    Although when J and I shopped for his amputee father, we jokingly said we hated to buy him a pair of shoes since he only needed one.

    😆

    I love jeans, too, and wear them everywhere. I also love the song “Baby’s Got Her Blue Jeans On”, so great title! 🙂

  2. Alyson Says:

    Thanks. I love that song too.

  3. Red Says:

    Yayy! Back in your jeans, that’s great!
    But umm .. colored jeans? heheh, I wont laugh .. too much!
    I love jeans too, but I only have 2 pair. I prefer corderoy in the winter.

  4. Alyson Says:

    They’re horrible, I know. They’ll never wear out, because I never wear them.

    I used to love cordory, but I currently do not own any.


Leave a Reply

