Retro Wrapper

December 14, 2007

There are good and bad things about taking up residence in a home, complete with 50 years worth of someone else’s belongings. 

In the “bad” column there’s the outbuilding full of junk, most of it broken, which we’ve had the responsiblilty of transproting to the landfill on a monthly basis.  There is also all the still-working “junk” you have to find a home for, such as cabinet stereos, ancient tv’s, vintage tupperware I don’t need etc.

In the “good” column there’s the fact that I have home furnishings that are simply beautiful, and many of them were handcrafted by some of my distant relatives.  Also, I haven’t bought wrapping paper in 6 years, and I probably have another 5 years worth of it left.  My grandma was a compulsive shopper, and I found TONS of wrapping paper when I cleaned out her various closets.  Some of it is butt ugly, so I wrap the kids presents in it.  Some of it is timeless, and actually kinda pretty.   Regardless of the print, I really don’t care, it’s all just going to end up in a landfill anyway, and the retro paper has saved alot of money over the years.

2 Responses to “Retro Wrapper”


  1. “Some of it’s butt ugly, so I wrap the kids’ presents in it.” HA!!!

    No present is ugly when a kid is unwrapping it, huh?

    By the way, you might want to see if you have freecycle.org in your area. I was just pointed there by some bloggers, and it’s a GREAT way to get rid of stuff.

  2. Alyson Says:

    That’s right. They really don’t care what the outside looks like anyway.

    I subscribe to the freecycle newsletter in our area. I haven’t listed or recieved anything off it, but it is an awesome idea. Maybe I’ll try to list some stuff after the holidays.


Leave a Reply

