What It’s All About

December 6, 2007

When I was a kid I thought Christmas would never get here.  I remember making paper chains, and lying awake at night counting down the days.  Often it wasn’t so much about the presents, even though they were great, I already pretty much knew what they were.  My mom was, and still is a list maker, and was often careless with her paper trail.  It was also about family. 

On my dad’s side of the family I have one cousin.  That’s it.  One.  She’s about 7 years older than me, and growing up she was my hero.   She lived, and still lives, about 3 hours away, so I rarely got to see her.  Before my own sister arrived, I called my cousin “Sissy”.  When I knew she and her mom were coming for a weekend I would be so excited I could hardly function.  I would do visual checks of my grandparent’s house next door, and the minute I saw their car parked in the carport, I would high-tail it over there with my suitcase in hand, where I would stay just as long as they did. 

Looking back, I’m sure I was a nusiance.  My grandma had to feel cheated.  After all, she didn’t get a moment alone with her daughter and grand-daughter, whom she rarely spent time with without me underfoot.  In retrospect, my cousin, a teenager who lived an exotic life in Music City, had to have felt suffocated by my constant presence and incessant questions.   However, it never showed, or at least I never picked up on it, and I continued to do this every time they came.  Espically Christmas.  I looked forward to seeing my cousin as much as I did opening presents.  

Hopefully everyone has childhood memories like this, where they wondered if Christmas would EVER arrive.  I can’t pinpoint exactly when the transition occurred.  When I went from wondering if Christmas would ever get here, to wondering how it crept up on me so fast.  Probably when I got my own place and got engaged to a man with kids, and I had to do all the decorating, baking, buying and wrapping myself.  That’s when Christmas became as much of a burden as a joyous occasion. 

Now that my own kids are getting older, I am starting to see the magic again.  My oldest has been asking for months when we could put the “blow ups” (inflatable Christmas decorations) out.  My constant reply was, “Thanksgiving”.  Thanksgiving morning, when I announced that it was Thanksgiving, he said, “Great, when can we put the blow ups out, now?”.  I told him that was daddy’s department, and that daddy was at work.  He pestered me furter, asking, “Do you think daddy will put them up when he gets home?” about a million times, until I picked up the phone, dialed J’s cell number, and handed the phone to him. 

You may recall, Thanksgiving was at my house, and J’s family doesn’t all get together very often.  Even so, he abandoned his kin to set up the blowups.  Our boys “helped”, and when the snowman and train were all staked out and wired, and the plug was inserted, they both clapped with glee, and jumped up and down shouting “yay”, a scene that is repeated nightly, without fail, when the blow ups are turned on.  It’s the best $80 we’ve ever spent.   

Earlier this week we watched the original “Rudolph” as a family.  I think it’s the cheesiest thing ever, but the boys love it.  The sat, watching intently for an hour, and afterwards we played “Rudolph”, complete with antlers and a santa hat.  The oldest ran around the house for 15 minutes before it came on, asking me to “not forget to tell him when Rudolph was coming on”. 

The scene that played out in our house this week reminded me of a song that the band Third Day played at the concert I recently attended, entitled, “Christmas Like A Child”.  I encourage you all to make time to feel Christmas like a child.

Christmas Like A Child Lyrics
Artist(Band):Third Day

Review The Song (0) Print the Lyrics

I want to feel Christmas, how it used to be
With all of its wonder falling on me
This season has felt so empty, oh for quite a while
I want to feel Christmas like a child

I want to see snowflakes fall to the ground
My brothers and sisters all gathered around
Singing “Away In A Manager” as we sit by the fire
I want to feel Christmas like a child

It’s been so long now, I can’t say
Just when I lost my way
But I’m going back to how it was
When this day meant everything
And we spent our time remembering
The baby Child born for us

It’s all about Jesus, asleep in the straw
This infant, this King, this Savior for all

So I don’t need bells to be ringing
‘Cause I’ll join with angels singing
Gloria
And I can feel Christmas like a child
I want to feel Christmas like a child…
 

2 Responses to “What It’s All About”

  1. Brian Says:

    I can just picture the kids jumping up and down over the inflatables! How precious!!

  2. Alyson Says:

    It is so sweet. They love them.


Leave a Reply

