Blogbits

December 6, 2007

Sans Pics:  I was so thrilled with my new found abilities to post pics, that I intended to do a picture post about some of my Christmas decor.   However, my old camera crapped out on me yesterday when I tried to take said pics.  It worked fine last weekend, so the only thing I can figure out is that maybe my card got some kind of VD when I stuck it in the photo machine at Wal-Mart.  I guess I’ll have to do it next year, when I have possession of my new camera, which is presently sitting on mom’s dining room table waiting to be wrapped and placed under the tree.   I know you are all dying of anticipation.

That’s Life:  We recently paid off my step-daughter’s braces, which I thought would give us an extra $60/ month.  I had dreams of paying down some of our debt, maybe occasionally taking in dinner and a movie, or just not having to put our gasoline on the credit card during our “bad week” with the extra income.  My kids sitter has initiated a much-deserved price increase of $10 per week, effective 1/1.  When I called this week to tack the hospital bill for J’s recent surgery onto our already existing (and almost paid off) bill for when the youngest was born, the hospital implied that it could only be done if I agreed to increase my payments by $25 per month.  So, for those of you keeping score, that’s 4 weeks per month x $10 per week= $40 per month extra for childcare, and $25 extra per month for the hospital, so I’m $5 more in the hole than when we were paying for the braces.   The oldest will be in school next year, so maybe we’ll get some relief then.  Oh, who am I kidding, it will just be something else. 

Paper Angels:  I recently saw a post from freecycle in which a woman was asking for toys for her children for Christmas.  She had placed them on one of the angel trees but she said, that’s no guarantee.  I’ve been pondering just how many angels are left over on Christmas eve.  How many kids get nothing because they weren’t “picked”, and what if someone has more than one child on the tree and one gets “picked” and the others don’t.  How do you explain that to your kids?  Just typing this makes me cry.  If I could, I would go to the store on the day of the deadline and buy things for all the leftover kids. 

Recovery:  I may be starting to feel normal again.  My bruises have abandoned their black and blue hue and opted for shades of red pink, purple and yellow.  I’m still sore, and can’t wear most of my pants because they tend to ride on the affected area.  However, I apparently got rid of some of the bloating Tuesday night.  Rumor has it my noctornal sounds went like this:  snore, fart, moan, snore, fart, moan………….  I suppose the moaning stemed from the fact that I was dreaming about JBJ (and Michael Jackson, oddly enough, all PG rated).  I was told that if it happened again someone would be sleeping on the couch.

9 Responses to “Blogbits”

  1. Brian Says:

    I would soooo moan if I was dreaming about MJ and BJ at the same time! 😎

  2. alyson Says:

    LOL. In the dream MJ was BJ’s surprise opening act, at a sparsley attended show at the Bass Pro Shop. He sang “Billie Jean”. You weren’t there, and when I called you later to tell you about it, you were pissed.

  3. Liz Says:

    Alyson,
    I think it is very nice that you are worried about the kids, but I once was “involved” in trying to help out with the Angel Tree Kids in our area & what I saw & heard made me never buy a gift for them again.

    If you want to help out some kid or kids for Christmas ask a friend or relative if they know of a family in need & surprise them.

    The resource centers who do ours may not give ever gift bought to that perticular child, they sometimes give it to another & also I have even witness them returning gifts to Wal-Mart after Christmas.

    They also but such restrictions & grilling process that really takes away from the whole spirit of giving.

    Don’t get me wrong I believe their our TONS of other WONDERFUL organizations who help out children but ours is pretty bais about gifts.

  4. Liz Says:

    sorry about all the spelling errors…really tired…but wanted to comment!!!
    🙂

  5. Alyson Says:

    I can totally understand why the system could jade you from wanting to help. I have a family member who refuses to help herself, and the amount of freebies, and the way she spends the little bit of money she does get, disgusts me. And don’t even get me started on the food stamp program.

    We usually help out with a program through our church, which sets up a “toy store” in an impoverished rural area. Parents pay $2 per child to go pick a designated number of toys for each child. It’s ran through our denomination, so I feel pretty good about it.

    This year we also sponsored an individual at the place where J works. The man has no extra income that the facility doesn’t get, and has no family to buy Christmas for him. This was done through our church also, with everyone chipping in. With 5 kids between us, we can’t afford to do much on our own.

  6. Red Says:

    My mom does the Angel tree every year. Every single year, she does it. That’s her thing. But I often wonder too, what about the kids that dont get picked? What about the ones that DO get picked, but the person who picked the Angel doesn’t deliver, doesn’t go through with it once they picked the Angel, ya know what I mean. It’s sad.
    I dont do the Angel tree. I donate jackets and sweaters and blankets every year. I dont do toys, I do what’s necessary. I donate what they need to stay warm and healthy. We’re not financially able to give a whole lot, but what we do give satisfies me, knowing that i DID give SOMETHING.

  7. Alyson Says:

    Wow, I hadn’t thought about the kids who get picked and the giver never delivers. That’s a whole different problem with the thing.

    I agree with what you do also. One time on the radio they were taking calls of people donating $ to help this family and they ended up with enough for over $200 per kid. It kinda perturbed me because I only spend about $75 on my own kids. While I dont’ want any kids to go without ANY toys at all for Christmas, it unnerves me to be asked to provide for “underpriviliged” kids who wind up getting more than I give my own children.

  8. Brian Says:

    Our church had an angel tree up this morning. We picked three families from a local women’s shelter and placed specific items on each angel. The gifts will be donated to the mothers unwrapped, so that she can wrap them and give them to the kids as if they came directly from her.

    I thought it was a great idea and I believe that everyone that took a tag will buy the corresponding gift.

  9. Alyson Says:

    I hope they will too, and I feel confident that they will with it being in a church setting, espically with each angel containing individual items rather than a lengthy list. That is a wonderful idea.

    I think what Red, and subsequently I, are concerned about is the ones in the retail stores where people pick up an angel that has a list of all that childs wants/needs then they don’t follow through.

    Your church’s program sounds so much better than the one in the stores. It makes helping out so much more affordable for those who can’t contribute alot. People who couldn’t afford to purchase a child’s entire Christmas needs can contribute an item or two and still help out.


Leave a Reply

