I’m Alive……I Think

December 4, 2007

I’m back.  The tubal ligation went as planned.  I’m still sore, and I have decided that the doctor used my stomach as a kickboxing bag while I was under anestesia.  That’s the only explanation for the amount of bruising I have.  I’m not allowed to pick up anything over 15 pounds for the next few days, and I’m milking that for all it’s worth.  I’m not doing laundry, vacuming, or dropping the kids off at the sitter’s.  My youngest gets very mad at me since I can’t lug him around, but he’s learning to deal. 

Friday and Saturday were the worst.  The soreness was/is much the same as when I had my cesareans.  I wondered why on earth I would put myself through this for the sake of sex without a condom.  Fortunately, Dr. Belly Kickboxer gave me some excellent pain medication, and I love him for it.  I did some really stupid stuff Friday.  First and foremost, I decided Friday would be the perfect opportunity to wrap all those presents I had purchased, while watching “Home For The Holidays”.  I was home alone, so nobody would peek, and I had nothing else to do.  Word to the wise:  lugging huge tubs of wrapping paper, and fetching gifts from high shelves and out from under and behind the bed is not something one needs to do less than 24 hours after surgery.  I regretted doing that almost immediately. 

Friday night we had tickets to see Jars of Clay and Third Day.  I spaced my wonder drugs into 4 hour intervals throughout the day, hoping that would allow me to go to the concert pain-free.  I went to the show, feeling pretty good.  However, I spent the first half of the show mesmerized by the pretty lights and wondering why we were floating, and the second half conked out and drooling on my husband’s shoulder.  Good Times.

Saturday I opted for was insturcted by J to have a restful day.  I thought this would be the perfect time to do those pesky holiday cards.  Once again, my decision to do so was helped by the use of the wonder drugs, which caused me to doze off in the middle of writing several of my holiday greetings.  I pray that my cards are coherent, and that I didn’t smear the ink with my drool.   I rested, and even managed to catch a real nap.  I didn’t do as many stupid things Saturday, due to the fact that I was under constant supervision. 

Sunday my oldest baby turned 5.  We celebrated with family at a local BK, and a good time was had by all.  When I figure out how to, I’ll post pics.  I made the cakes myself.  One was a Batman emblem.  I did a great job, if I do say so myself.  The other was Spiderman, and as my son himself said, the web turned out looking like a basketball net.  Oh well, who cares, it was just made to be woofed down, right? 

4 Responses to “I’m Alive……I Think”

  1. Brian Says:

    I spent the first half of the show mesmerized by the pretty lights and wondering why we were floating, and the second half conked out and drooling on my husband’s shoulder. Good Times.

    I know it’s bad, but that made me laugh! I can just picture you in both situations.

    Sounds like you waaaaaaaaay overdid it on Friday and that has probably affected your healing time. Get as much rest as possible. You can’t always be Wonder Woman!

    Can’t wait to see pics of the cakes and can’t believe he’s already five years old.

  2. alyson Says:

    Don’t feel bad, it made me laugh too.

    Friday, as I was doing that stuff, I was thinking, “I’m going to regret this” but I couldn’t stop. I’ve learned my lesson.

  3. Red Says:

    Aw, Alyson – Im so relieved that you’re doing well. I’ve thought about ya, knowing you had that procedure going on .. I hope you have a speedy and safe recovery! Stay on your butt for as long as you can!

  4. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. I learned my lesson from Friday and intend to let the house go to pot until I feel better.


Leave a Reply

