The Grinch Returns

November 28, 2007

I used to be one of those people that put up her Christmas tree and decorations the first of November.  However, since having children, and having to host Thanksgiving dinners, I now find myself procrastinating on all things festive. 

Last night I heaved the decorations down from the den closet, and began transforming our home into a winter wonderland.  I intended to only decorate one of our two trees last night, and only get out the boxes containing the tree and ornaments, however, my oldest had other plans. 

From the moment we spoke of decorating the tree, he began asking where the Christmas books were.  He harassed me about their whereabouts incessantly, as we decorated the tree.  He helped with the decorating some, then amused himself and his brother by playing in the empty tree box for a good hour.  Since he was such a big helper with the tree trimming this year, I relented and got all the Christmas boxes down and began looking for the books.  I pilfered through multiple boxes containing everthing from grandma’s nativity scene, to a Christmas attired Travis the Trout

Finally I found them, and my son was so excited.  He immediately picked out four for me to read to him, and the youngest picked one.  Then the three of us, along with our cat snuggled into my recliner, for a long winter’s read.  We read Wiggly Christmas (the 2 year old’s choice), Santa’s Stuck, The Gingerbread Man, Waiting For Santa, and How The Grinch Stole Christmas. 

Ahhh………The Grinch, I can almost recite that one from memory.  I’ve started adding sound effects, and a lame attempt at a Grinchly voice just to spice it up. 

I’m sure our Christmas reading time will be a daily occurrance until the books go back into storage.

As I type this there are boxes strewn all around my house, and tons more decorating to do before I can return them to the closet.  I’m having surgery in about 20 hours, so there’s no way I will get everything done tonight.  Spending a week with my home in disarray is a nightmare for someone as OCD as I am.  But when my boys sit on my lap and listen intently as pull out my most grinchly voice and snarl with a sneer, “tomorrow is Chirstmas, it’s practically here” I know that they will soon be too big to sit on my lap.  They will be able to read to themselves, and  I’ll have to bribe them to “help” with the decorating.  Nobody will be needing me to read to them, or bathe them, or find their missing transformer.  I’ll have all the time in the world to put up boxes and strighten up the house. 

So, for the time being I’ll spend the weekend recovering, tripping over boxes, adjusting to not being able to find the sofa, praying that nobody drops in for a surprise visit, and working on that Grinch snarl.  

4 Responses to “The Grinch Returns”

  1. Red Says:

    Aw, the Grinch. How sweet. Dontcha just love how the youngins wanna sit in your lap and do something as simple as reading a book. Cherish it, Alyson… they grow up so freakin’ fast. Mine still climbs into my lap every night while we watch TV. But she’s getting a bit heavy for my poor knees.

  2. Alyson Says:

    I really do cherish it. My stepkids were 6 and 8 when J and I started dating and they are now 15 and 16, so I know whatcha mean.

  3. Red Says:

    I hope you are well, MsAlyson.

  4. Alyson Says:

    Thanks so much. I’m starting to feel human again.


Leave a Reply

