Major Dingbat, Reporting For Duty

November 23, 2007

I can’t believe what I did this morning.  I awoke around 3:30 am, and hastily got ready to head out for my Black Friday shopping.   After catching 2 Bon Jovi songs on the radio, my day was off to a good start when I arrived at my local Wal-Mart at 4:30 on the nose.  I was proud of myself for making it so early, and I knew my early arrival would be rewarded with a wonderful, brand spankin’ new digital camera. 

Before I even parked the minivan I realized I had forgotten something.  I had my list, I had my sales fliers from other stores that I would need in order to get price-comped deals, but I had forgotten something very important.  Something green, that none of us have enough of.  MONEY.  That’s right, my purse containing my checkbook, cash and credit cards was laying in my bedroom floor, 15 miles away. 

I didn’t even park.  I turned around and headed for home, cursing the whole way.  35 minutes and 2 gallons of gas later I arrived back at Wal-Mart.  Fortunately I was able to get the important things on my list.  I even manage to pick up a new movie for myself.  Unfortunately they didn’t have any of the stuff that I was wanting to get price-comped, but I wasn’t too disapointed as it was all stuff for me or extra stuff for my kids that they don’t really need anyway. 

After finishing up at Wal-Mart I headed over to JC Penney’s and got some new jeans for myself ($15), then to Goody’s where I got a sweater and fleece jacket for my brother-in-law, whose name we drew, and a camoflague wreath and stocking for J, all for under $20.   I headed back to Penney’s to get some jewlery for a neice who’s name we also drew, then I went to work.  A few gift certificates aside, I’m pretty well done Christmas shopping. 

Despite the major mishap, it was a very successful Black Friday.

7 Responses to “Major Dingbat, Reporting For Duty”

  1. cowgalutah Says:

    I missed it all today…I didn’t need a thing that was on the ad’s. But we did go to wal-mart last night just for something to do.


  2. This forgetting of the purse is exactly the type of thing I do. Once, when I was about 8-months pregnant and my hormones were just insane, we got to the movie theater about 30 miles from our house and I realized I’d forgotten our money. I had screaming and crying fit in the parking lot and I refused to ever see the movie. To this day I have never seen Pretty Woman.

  3. Brian Says:

    Wendy – You simply must see Pretty Woman!

  4. Brian Says:

    I got so flabbergasted that Wendy hasn’t seen Pretty Woman that I forgot to comment on your post!

    I can’t help but think it’s pretty funny, even though I know how frustrating it must have been. One day you’ll look back and laugh! At least you didn’t pick everything out and then figure it out when you got to the register!

  5. Alyson Says:

    @ cowgal: That sounds like something I would do. Aside from the much needed camera, there was nothing else I wanted either.

    @ wendy: lol. Funny story. You should see the movie though. I once did that at our theater too, luckily J had a check with him so we got to go anyway.

    @ brian: It’s alot funnier now than it was at 4:30 Friday. I counted my lucky stars that I didn’t get ready to check out too.

  6. Brian Says:

    Have you tried out that camera yet, or is your Mom making you wait until Santa comes?

  7. Alyson Says:

    I’m waiting for santa. I took it to her house for her to wrap. I’ll have to make it this year with the old one.


Leave a Reply

