Embarassing Myself and Others Since 1977

November 20, 2007

This morning started off like any other.  I got the kids ready and loaded up to take them to the babysitters.  I pulled into the driveway, noticing the front door was closed, which was unusual since it was time for the school bus to pick up her son, but I thought he might be sick or something. 

I got the kids out of the car and went in the back door of her house like usual.  I didn’t knock.  I never knock.  I will start knocking.

As you come into her house you can see the master bedroom and bathroom on the immediate right.  I heard the blow dryer going, so I assumed she was just running late this morning.  I looked in the open bedroom door and saw her standing at the mirror with the hair dryer, and her husband in the bathtub. 

The funny thing was, she didn’t see or hear me over the noise of the dryer, so her husband was sitting in the tub, like a deer in the headlights, yelling for her and pointing at me.  I was looking at him as if to say, what are you doing, you are supposed to be at work?

She hustles out of the bathroom, shutting the door behind her, and says, “I can’t watch them today”.  Then it was my turn to look like a deer in the headlights.  I was wondering if she had called that morning and J forgot to tell me.  Then it dawned on me, she told me last week she had an appointment today. 

I was mortified, not only for forgetting to make other arrangements, but for walking in on her husband in the bath.   

Note to self:  For future reference, don’t forget to knock.

4 Responses to “Embarassing Myself and Others Since 1977”

  1. Brian Says:

    O
    M
    G
    !

    That is so hilarious!! I’ll bet her husband will think twice before taking another early-morning bath.

    What on earth did you do with the kiddies?

  2. Alyson Says:

    J took them to my granny’s as he went to work. Miraculously, I was only about 10 minutes late to work.

  3. Red Says:

    aaaaaaaahahahahah!!! tell him to use bubble bath next time so that it covers up his junk. you dont need to be seeing that stuff!

  4. Alyson Says:

    Yeah, my husband’s is enough for me. Maybe I’ll get them some Mr. Bubble for Christmas. LOL.


Leave a Reply

