Sickly Saturday, Mousy Sunday

November 12, 2007

Saturday was opening day of deer season here in the bluegrass state, and for the first time I was not awakened multiple times by the hubby’s alarm at 4:30 a.m.  He got up on the first ring, and everyone in the house remained asleep.  In fact, the boys and I slumbered until he came back, at 7:30 a.m. empty handed. 

After lounging around the house for a while, we went to my parent’s house next door for lunch.  My oldest didn’t eat, and didn’t look like he was feeling well.  When we got home it became apparent that he was one sick puppy.  He complained of a headache, was feverish and wanted nothing more than to lay on the couch watching Disney Channel.  I spent the evening taking temperatures, cleaning vomit and worrying. 

Sunday found him feeling a little better, and although he had no symptoms he still wasn’t up to par.  For that reason we stayed home from church, meaning we did not venture over 100 yards from the homefront for over 48 hours.  

Although I have nothing to show for it, I was a busy OCD-er this weekend.   I finally got that last kitchen cabinet cleaned out, washed a week’s worth of dishes and clothes, and got my recipe copies somewhat organized.  However, I have one weekend project that I am most proud of.  I finally  began work on what I call “paper mountain”, by eliminating and semi-organizing the papers already in my filing cabinet.  There is now room in the filing cabinet for the 2 years worth of paperwork which is currently thrown in my desk drawers.  Maybe one day I’ll get it in there.

The weekend was entirely boring though.  Last night we had company. 

The hubby and I were engaged in our Sunday evening ritual (Desperate Housewives and Brothers and Sisters) when we heard something scurrying on our celing.  It’s not unusual in a rural area to hear a mouse running overhead, so J quickly dismissed it, but I was freaked out.  I’ve heard mice scurring around our attic on a handfull of occasions, and this sounded different.  Our living room celing is that styrofoam tile stuff, and whatever this was, was clearly stepping on the celing tiles, right above my head.   I could hear every step, as it’s toenails crunched into the foam.  When I’ve heard mice before, it sounded like they were running over wood.  This was clearly different.

I immediately began having visions of a mouse, rat, squirrel or whatever was up there falling through the celing and landing on my head.  I ran around the house, asking the hubby to “do something”.  He choose to laugh hysterically at me, which was not the “something” that I had in mind. 

Finally I sat back down in my recliner and attempted to watch the rest of Housewives.  I took extermination matters into my own hands, by alternately yelling at the mouse to “go away” and banging on the wall in an attempt to scare him into doing so.  J kept interrupting by looking up at the celing above my head and saying “Oh My God” trying to convince me that my fears were coming true.   I could tell he was joking, and I tried to ignore both him, and the still scurrying rodent overhead.  

The scurrying stopped and J looked up and said “OH MY GOD DEAR”. 

I knew he was serious.  I didn’t look.  I couldn’t look.  I jumped up out of my chair and ran to the other side of the room. 

There is was a hole in the celing tile right above my recliner.  Just a little dent in the styrofoam from one of the kid’s bouncy balls gone awry.  It’s the only one in the celing, and I had never thought alot about it before. 

According to eyewitness reports, the mouse was poking his little nose through that hole.  My reply, upon hearing this, was “you better be effing kidding me”.  

Neither J nor I didn’t knew rodents could get in between the rafters and the celing tile.  Per my request, he fixed the hole immediately, then continued ridiculing my reaction to our visitor for the remainder of the evening. 

7 Responses to “Sickly Saturday, Mousy Sunday”

  1. Brian Says:

    Well, at least you had some excitement. I would have laughed my arse off if I’d seen that little bugger peeking down at your terrified head. LOL!

  2. cowgalutah Says:

    holy crap…are you kidding me?

  3. Red Says:

    they can get into an area the size of a pencil eraser. they’re quite flexible little critters. tiny but they scare the jaheeepers outta me! and i know they’re gonne be coming in soon because it’s getting cold out.

  4. Red Says:

    oh, and im glad to hear the youngin’ is feeling better!

  5. Alyson Says:

    @ Brian: I would’ve probably laughed at myself if I could’ve seen it.

    @ cowgal: I wish I were. I feel so violated every time one gets in the house.

    @ red: They scare me to death, which is stupid because I’m a million times bigger than them. Although we don’t have them often, there is no way to prevent them getting in. I was going to get in the attic and put poison up there, but we have outside cats, and I don’t want them eating a poisoned mouse.

    Now the little one is sick. It never ends……

  6. Alyssa Says:

    I would not share a house with a mouse…. call me Dr. Seuss, but that shits crossing the line. I wont share the house with bugs either… call me a stupid suburbanite but no way!!!

  7. Alyson Says:

    lol @ Dr. Seuss. We’re blessed that we only see/hear about 1 per year. Living in the country they are a fact of life.


Leave a Reply

