Election Day

November 6, 2007

Brian’s post today made me decide to write one of my own regarding  Election Day.  I’m not terribly interested in politics, but I do vote (almost) every election.  I came home yesterday to find 2 messages on my answering machine, both political recordings.  The first one was from the Republican candidate for State Treasurer, Melinda Wheeler, and the second was from our current governor, Ernie Fletcher, who is running for re-election.  Although I’m a Democrat, I am considering voting for Mrs. Wheeler, for this reason alone.

 While I was trying to cook dinner I recieved another recorded call from a former politician, warning me about Governor Fletcher’s “dirty politics”.  By this point, I was getting frustrated with the amount calls we were getting.  I had a church meeting, and was glad I wouldn’t have to listen to the political nonsense the rest of the evening. 

When we got home J told me we had gotten a call from someone saying that, “Steve Beshear was for the homosexuals”.  I asked if the call was for or against Beshear.  J didn’t know, because he promptly hung up.  I got to thinking about the call later on.  To me, as a young person with a gay best friend, hearing that about a candidate would make me want to vote for them.  I believe everyone should be able to marry.  However, in relation to our area, I think I am in the minority.  Alot of people here in the Bible Belt have different beliefs, and a call like that could steer their vote in the other direction, which I think was the purpose of the call.  Our local news addressed these calls last night, and nobody claims to know who initiated them.  

On another election day note, I was talking to a friend last night who has a day job with the state.  She works from 8am-4pm, and she gets 1/2 day off from work today to go vote.    Although I’m all for voting, I see this arrangement as government waste.  I work from 7:30 – 4 with an extra hour and a half figured in for commuting and dropping off/picking up the kids, and I still manage to make it to the polls.  The polls here are open from 6 am to 6 pm, so I find it hard to believe that government employees could not vote if they had to work more than 4 hours on election day. 

I’ll get off my soapbox now.  Go vote everyone!

3 Responses to “Election Day”

  1. Brian Says:

    I bet our phone rang 10 times, although one of them was actually someone taking up donations for breast cancer.

    Apparently with the homosexuals, if you’re not for us, you’re against us. 😆

    I’m glad you’re on “our” side!

  2. Red Says:

    I dont vote. Never have, probably never will.
    And Im tired of all the freaking phone calls and tv ads!

  3. alyson Says:

    I’m proud to be on your side Bri!

    It seems the phone calls were worse this year than ever. Everyone at work got alot too.


Leave a Reply

