You Down With OCD, Yeah You Know Me

October 30, 2007

I have come to the conculsion that I have some form of OCD.  Although I have not had this medically verified, I don’t think I need a second opinion.  I took my kids to the playground and found myself picking up sticks and limbs rather than playing with them.  Forget bacon and eggs, I prefer the smell of Lysol first thing in the morning.  Besides, if I woke up to the smell of bacon and eggs cooking, I would know that I would be the one to clean up the mess that whomever leaves when they are done cooking, and I would be pissed.  Also, the manequin’s tag was sticking out at Penney’s the other night, and I just HAD to fix it. 

I clean/pick up, all the time, and the sad thing is, I have nothing to show for it.  With 2 preschoolers, and a hectic family life, no matter how hard I try, the house is always a mess.  People that know me are probably reading this thinking, SHE has a cleaning compulsion, NO WAY.  Her house is a mess and her car looks like crap, but I seriously have a problem. 

It’s really bad when we are having company.  Espically my inlaws, which is stupid of me, because my house on it’s worst day, is 1000 times cleaner than any of theirs on their best day.  I once found dog hair in my food at one of their houses.  I don’t mean a stray strand, I’m talking about a tuft.  I haven’t eaten there since, and never will.  While nothing that bad has happened at any of the other’s homes, it’s just a matter of time, which is why I insist on hosting all the holidays at our house.   

When I decide something needs cleaning/organized I can’t get it out of my system.  If it’s 10:00 pm on a weekday, and I decide it’s time to clean out the closet, then by george, it’s time to clean out the closet.  If all the stuff from the closet is on the bed, J will just have to wait till I’m done to go to bed, or he can go sleep on the couch. 

I’m currently on a massive cleaning binge.  I organized the linen closet on a whim the other night.  Sunday night I decided it was time to purge the absurd amount of silverware and better organize the kitchen drawers.  The disorganized drawers had never bothered me before, and we have had the same amount of silverware for 5 years, but Sunday, I suddenly couldn’t take it anymore.  All the strays are now in a box.  A big friggin boot box.  That’s how much silverware we had.  I now have 3 matching sets, which are placed together, in their proper drawers in the plastic silverware caddies.  Lord help the first person that intermingles the sets.  They may get death by salad fork. 

Last night I tackled the cabinets, and tonight I plan to finish.  I am blessed with cabinet space, so there’s alot of crap to go through. 

Funny thing is, while I am obsessed with the kitchen, my boys’ room looks like a pigsty.  An honest to God pigsty.  I can’t walk through there.  It needs organized WAY worse than the kitchen, but it doesn’t bother me, YET.  It’s time will soon come I’m sure. 

I also have clothes on the line, that have been there since Sunday.  Not bothering me.  It’s not supposed to rain so I’ll let them stay out there another day.  I’m focusing my efforts on the kitchen.  Ignorant, yes, but I can’t help it. 

12 Responses to “You Down With OCD, Yeah You Know Me”

  1. Brian Says:

    😆 Hilarious!

    I also get obsessive over certain things, but usually not cleaning. I am very particular about little things, like how the files are organized on my computer or which way something faces in the refrigerator.

  2. alyson Says:

    It really is the little things.


  3. This is so funny! Although there’s an envious part of me that would like to be OCD for about a week. Just long enough to get the house really cleaned and organized.

  4. Alyson Says:

    I know what you mean. Sometimes I think about pulling an all-nighter just to get it satisfactory. I’m never really happy with it now.

  5. Red Says:

    Oh hon, welcome to OCD. Have you checked out our OCD site, over at http://ocdsonly.wordpress.com?

    Me and some of the other girls on my ‘roll write on it .. Check it out sometime, if you havent!

    Whatever you do, don’t have shame in it ..

  6. alyson Says:

    I’ve looked at that before. Very funny.


  7. Yeah, i was just going to echo Red’s recommendation. We’re very clean and tidy people! (except like you, my car can be a real mess – what’s up with that?). I live with a pack rat and my life is semi-dedicated to throwing away the things he drags home. It’s my life’s work now.

  8. alyson Says:

    OMG. I totally understand. My husband worked at a school for 5 years, and he brought home junk ALL THE TIME. I told him if they had a bag of dog poop and told him it was free he would lug it home. I get rid of his stuff all the time, and he has yet to notice.


  9. OK, that cracked me up! I agree – mine would bring it home too…sad, ain’t it?

  10. alyson Says:

    It’s pitiful.

    We got a nice loveseat that way, and it kept him in work clothes for 5 years, but it was a pain. Luckily he doesn’t work there anymore.

  11. Red Says:

    that’s funny, alyson. My husband is the same way . . he brings home shit that they throw away all the freaking time. like this chair im sitting in right now? he took 2 throw aways, and made one good one. It still works under my big ass!
    and when we take the trash to the dump? he has to look in all the dumpsters to find “treasures”. i lay my head in shame when he does that! hahah

  12. alyson Says:

    LOL. Ahhh dumpster diving. I would hide too.

    Mine isn’t that bad yet, but his sister and brother in law are. Once they went to the dump and brought home more than they took.


Leave a Reply

