The Lord Provides

October 26, 2007

Late last night I got a phone call from a church friend, who is the head of our church’s outreach committe, and is also involved in planning the retreat I talked about in my last post.  She told me that, I was going to the retreat, and the money would be taken from our church’s outreach fund.  I started to protest.  In all honesty, I don’t tithe like I should, and I feel bad taking money from the church to go on a retreat.  Espically since I’m treating myself to a pricey (by our standards anyway) birthday dinner this weekend.  She cut me off, saying that I do ALOT for the church, and if I truly feel bad about it I could simply pay it forward when fortune smiles on me. 

So, now I’m going.  I’m happy, but feeling a tad guilty.

5 Responses to “The Lord Provides”

  1. Brian Says:

    AWESOME! You definitely deserve it, so enjoy yourself.

  2. Alyson Says:

    Thanks. I know I need the break, and I intend to take full advantage of the trip.

  3. Red Says:

    Yayyyyy you!


  4. No guilt! You know you’ve given and will continue to give. It’s all circular– have fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Alyson Says:

    I intend to. My friend (the one that told her mom, who in turn arranged for the payment) asked me Saturday it I was pissed at her for doing it. I told her NO WAY! I’m so excited.


Leave a Reply

