Welcome to the Gun Show

October 17, 2007

The other night I could not get my son to stay in his room and go to sleep.  He does fine staying in bed if I’m going to bed too, but if I’m staying up, forget it.  He’s scared to death he’s going to miss something.   I read him some stories, helped him say his prayers and tucked him in, then went to the kitchen to do some cleaning.  He managed to get up 1,000 times to tell me such important things as, “I wish we lived at Mrs. April’s” and “I wish I didn’t have a bedtime”.   When I told him to quit getting up, he began yelling for me, and when I came in the room he asked important questions, like, “Why do we have bedtimes?”. 

I was ready to pull my hair out, and I knew I had to do something.  So I pulled out the big guns, and said, “if you get out of bed or yell for me again, I’m donating everything Power Rangers in this house to Goodwill, EVEN the clothes”.   

 It worked, for a few minutes, then I heard, “MOMMY………..What if I have to pee, can I get up then?”

9 Responses to “Welcome to the Gun Show”

  1. Brian Says:

    Girl, you have got some great stories! LOL

  2. cowgalutah Says:

    OK…I’m going to bed now. That is a “powerful” threat that works for years.

  3. Liz Says:

    Zach always says “I have one more question…”
    lol

  4. alyson Says:

    Liz: LOL, they’re always full of questions!

    cowgal: LOL. It’ll work as long as he’s into the rangers I guess.

    Brian: As long as he’s around I’m sure the stories will continue to flow.

  5. Alyssa Says:

    Good lord, this sounds like mine.
    “Mom, dont forget the hallway light.”

    “Don’t close that door.”

    “Mooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmy I need a bigger hug and a bigger kiss!”
    “Hey, I want you to give Dora and I a blanket so we can share.”
    “ok….now sing that to Dora.”
    “Tuck Dora in.”
    “Don’t turn my fan off, wait, turn it off. No, turn the light on too.”

    “Mooooooommmm, I want to look at the window Can I get up?”

    ………………………….. ::scream:: LOL

  6. Paul B. Says:

    This is seriously the coolest kid in the world…. What a great blog!
    Like your style.

  7. Alyson Says:

    Alyssa, I guess they all do it, but it’s still unnerving.

    Paul B: Thanks. We think he’s pretty cool.


  8. I just found you! And I’m glad to see that Power Rangers will hold the real power.

  9. Alyson Says:

    That’s right, the rangers ALWAYS win!


Leave a Reply

