SNL (Sorry No Laughs)

October 15, 2007

I blogged here regarding my excitement of his royal hotness, Jon Bon Jovi, hosting SNL this past weekend.  I was excited about this all last week.  I planned a late night game of dominoes, complete with sugary snacks for during the show to keep me alert. 

I somehow managed to miss the first couple of minutes, due to my own stupidity (I thought it came on at 10:35 rather than 10:30).  The first skit was already in progress when I tuned in, and I found it mildly amusing.  It was a flashback to the 1980’s with Jon playing himself, in full 80’s drag. 

Next came the funniest part of the show, the monologue, where Richie Sambora forgot his line, and Jon recovered nicely.  Had that line went as planned, even that would not have been funny.  

From there it went downhill, with one of the skits casting Jon as a contestant on a Jersey game show, and the next 2 casting him as himself.  Big Stretches.  One of those was set in………. you guessed it, the 1980’s.  Big hair and spandex, friggin’ hilarious, espically twice in one hour.

Granted, I probably have not watched SNL this decade, but this show seemed just plain stupid most of the time.  It was not at all like the SNL I remember watching back in the day, when I would laugh so hard I would nearly pee my pants.  I’m trying to figure out if they were off their game this weekend or if I was so drunk and immature a few years ago that I just THOUGHT it was funny. Maybe I’m just too old to “get it” anymore, but I was terribly disapointed in the show.  I can’t believe I stayed up that late to watch something that crappy, nor can I believe that it’s still on the air.

And oh yeah, I got my butt whipped at dominoes.  Next time I’ll just record it and go to bed. 

8 Responses to “SNL (Sorry No Laughs)”

  1. Brian Says:

    I just watched the intro on Dlisted. JBJ was looking fine as heck, as usual. SNL is never any good these days and I don’t think it’s because we’re getting older.

  2. alyson Says:

    He was so friggin hot. The still shots they showed of him before coming back from commercial were hot too!
    I’m glad Dlisted agreed with me about the flubbed intro being the only funny part.

  3. Alyssa Says:

    Oy! I am going to have be the stick in the mud here. I love SNL and I don’t think Jon Bon Jovi’s even a little hot.

    Maybe it’s because I wasn’t born in the year of the Jovi.

    SNL’s if Will Ferrel is in them I always laugh, he’s so funny

  4. Alyson Says:

    SNL was great when Will was on there. It seems there’s nobody really funny on now.

    Yeah, since you’re 21 you probably did miss the Jovi bandwagon. I got on at age 11 have no intentions of getting off! LOL.

  5. Alyssa Says:

    I do still think Jordan Knight from New Kids on the Block is hot though. LOL

  6. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I was totally with the NKOTB. I liked Donnie though.


  7. I agree, SNL is not funny anymore and not worth the time it takes to watch it. Personally, I think the problem is that behind the scenes the competition to get a sketch on the air is a matter of who is the more obnoxiously forceful personality at the pitch meeting. I think the funny stuff is never even considered. And what a waste of JBJ! I think he has a good sense of humor and can laugh at himself, but he’s not completely stuck in the 80s for crying out loud. That whole thing gets old fast.

  8. Alyson Says:

    I agree. One skit with 80’s hair would’ve been fine, but they really went overboard. Prior to SNL he was on Conan, and said that he had pitched some skit ideas himself, none of which were well recieved. He told about them, and they seemed pretty good.


Leave a Reply

