It’s Too Late For Me, Save Yourselves

October 12, 2007

I’ve done something this week I have vowed to NEVER do!  The inevitable has happened.  I have became my mother.

When my sister and I were younger, and my mother found a good deal on a product at the grocery store, she would always make us go to the store and “pretend we weren’t together”, so that we could amass the 3 times the limit on specific sale products.  My sister would usually walk up to my mom in the checkout line and say, “I don’t know you” really loud in an attempt to break her, but it never worked.  I’m sure the grocery store staff  knew what was going on.  One of the locations was in a not-so-good area, and it’s not like alot of white parents would send their 8 year old daughters into “Ghetto Grocery” all alone. 

Now that I think about it, my sister and I should’ve ran amouck in the store, and when she tried to get on to us told her, “Back off lady, you’re not my mom”. 

Usually the sale item we were sent for was sugar, at 99 cents per bag.  And if going our seperate ways in the store wasn’t enough, she would make us go to all the locations of this particular supermarket and repeat the process. 

A chain supermarket in the next town is currently running a special on sugar, 99 cents per bag.  Like most southerners, we drink sweet tea, and deserts are my culinary specialty, so we consume alot of sugar.  We’ve been in the town with this supermarket alot recently, and on our first trip there, my mental calculator was in overdrive, and I told J, “I can stop at each location on the way there and the way back, and get 8 bags each time.  And if you daughter is with us Saturday, we can send her in too and ………OMG I JUST BECAME MY MOTHER”. 

Have no fear though, there’s still some of my dad in me too.  I actually told my son the other day, “If you don’t quit crying, I’m going to give you something to cry about”.  My dad used to tell me that alot, and I hated it with a passion. 

BTW:  I told my mom about the experience, and she said, “That’s a really good deal, I’ll have to tell your grandma”.  Then she added, “If you and J both went in each trip you could get double the amount.”

9 Responses to “It’s Too Late For Me, Save Yourselves”


  1. LOL, you are so talented & funny with your writing. I always enjoy readin your post!!! Just like Brian’s blog, I look forward to seeing what topic you will talk about next!!!

    I hear myself sounding like my mother too. 😦 Sometimes my dad, but he is the strong silent type.

    My mom actually would hardly ever let us go to the grocery with her. She was a stay @ home mom & housewife most of her life & she said grocery shopping was the only time she got to be alone. She still likes to shop alone. lol Not me….I like the company.

  2. Red Says:

    Oh yeah . . we’ve done that with pop. I hate when the Kroger gives ya limits on pop.

  3. alyson Says:

    @ stilldreaming: Thanks. I find myself checking alot of blogs, including yours, hoping someone has updated. I like to go shopping alone too. Espically if I’m not on a tight schedule and I can browse.

    @ red: We’ll have to start doing that with soda too, although the more I have in the house the more we drink, so I probably wouldn’t save any money. (unless I hid them in the shop…..hmmmmm………) Anyways, I hate both the limits at Kroger, and the fact that you have to spend $10 on other stuff to get the pop at a discount.

  4. Alyssa Says:

    oh man, I’m your mother too then. LOL

    When the 5 pound bags of frozen chicken breasts go on sales for 3.99/bag with a limit of three per person. I’m like “Honey, here’s the credit card. Go buy these, take them out to the car, double back inside with the credit card, we’ll get three more, finish shopping then check out in a different aisle.”

    Eek. LOL!!

  5. alyson Says:

    I would do that too. We love chicken!

  6. cowgalutah Says:

    OMG…my mom did that to me when I worked at the grocery store. I was checking and was like “mom, just put all your stuff up here and I’ll check you out twice.” She insisted that it was not as much fun that way.

  7. Alyson Says:

    LOL. I guess it’s a rite of passage for kids everywhere.

  8. talea Says:

    My mom made my brother and I do that all the time. But I was painfully shy as a kid, and each time I’d hyperventilate standing in line with my bag of oranges, and envision horrible scenarios involving police raids and jailtime for breaking the rules.
    I was scared of authority a bit too…..

  9. Alyson Says:

    LOL. That’s too funny. I was shy too, and it embarassed me to do it.

    And, for the record, I didn’t make my stepdaughter do it, although I did make my hubby take 2 bags and go through another checkout.


Leave a Reply

