By Popluar Demand

September 11, 2007

(That is, if you consider one person’s curiosity “popular demand”)

I found this reicpe in an issue of “Quick Cooking” and it quickly became one of my family’s favorites.  Even my youngest, age 2, asks for more, “dog dog pie”.   

Warning:  There is nothing, I repeat nothing, healthy about this dish. 

Hot Dog Pie

1/2 pound ground beef

4 hot dogs, cut in half lengthwise and sliced

1-16 oz can pork & beans

1/2 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 tablespoons mustard

2 ounces velveeta, cubed

1 unbaked deep dish pie shell

4 slices american cheese

In a large saucepan, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink; drain.  Add the hot dogs, beans, ketchup, brown sugar, mustard and velveeta cubes.  Cook and stir until cheese is melted. 

Meanwhile, prick pie shell with a fork.  Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes.  Fill with hot beef mixture.  Cut each cheese slice into four strips.  Arrange cheese to make a lattice topping over pie.  Bake 5-10 minutes longer, or until cheese is melted. 

Note:  I usually only use about 1/2 the amount of mustard the recipe calls for, if I use it at all. 

5 Responses to “By Popluar Demand”

  1. Red Says:

    Thanks for the recipe.
    You mentioned beans though *gag* I could make this for the family.

  2. Alyson Says:

    After I posted this I saw on your blog that you hated beans, so I figured this would be a no-go.


  3. I was curious myself, although like Red I don’t like beans and when I read that I was like “yuck!” lol
    I don’t like the texture.
    My cousin gave me a recipe for Upside down pizza, similar to this as in “Quick Cook”
    🙂

  4. Brian Says:

    I, on the other hand, love beans and I think this sounds pretty good. The cheese really sounds enticing! Mmmmmmm…. the power of cheeeeeese.

  5. alyson Says:

    Everything’s better with velveeta.


Leave a Reply

