But I Regress……..

September 11, 2007

In the past few months I have come to the conclusion that even though I am an almost 30, college educated, mildly intelligent woman, I still have the mentality of a 7th grader.  I blame this on the fact that I live in a household that is 75% male, and I work at a place that is 90% male.  Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, to support my conclusion, I give you the following evidence:

Exhibit A:  A few weeks ago my boss went to an auction and bought a pipe rack, for storing pipe.  As he came in and was telling his sons of his purchase he kept repeating the phrase, “It’s a real nice rack”, and I had to fight back the urge to laugh out loud.

Exhibit B:  My oldest has a Spiderman toy that doubles as a Peter Parker.  To make Spiderman into Peter Parker you simply put the buisness suit over his spidey suit, and then change the spidey head with the human head.  Last week he came to me in tears over the fact that his younger brother “lost his Peter head”.  All I could do was laugh, which made him cry more.  A few days later he was thrilled when I found it, under the couch, and ran around yelling, “Yay, you found my Peter head”. 

Exhibit C:  Today at work some customers were wanting some gravel for inside their horse barn.  It was a middle-aged couple, and in trying to figure out how much gravel to get the man made the comment to the woman, “you said you wanted a good 3 inches”.  This alone made me and one of my male co-workers exchange glances and grins.  Then, the husband tells her, “all I know is you always say you want 3 inches in the stall”, and then he repeats this, multiple times.  By now, I am fighting the laughter so hard that I am shaking, with my back turned to the couple and am feigning interest in doing some filing so I don’t have to look up at either them or my co-worker, because I know I will die in a fit of giggles if I look at any of them.  Thank goodness I’m not the one waiting on them!

3 Responses to “But I Regress……..”


  1. I guess I would be in that same category, lol, I would have laughed at all 3 myself!

  2. Brian Says:

    I also would have laughed my behind off. Last night, Mrs. J told us that we had to go out because she needed to use the bathroom. We could hear her blowing out all the way out in the hall and Alan was about to get in the floor laughing.

    What’s the point of growing up anyway? 😀

  3. alyson Says:

    LOL. I always laugh at stuff like that.

    I remember once when my mom and I were taking my Alzheimers striken grandma to the gynocologist, she was upset that we hand’t told her where we were going beforehand (although we had). In the car she blurts out, “If I would’ve known where we were going I would’ve washed better down there, but I’m sure he’s smelled that before” I almost died trying to suppress the laughter.


Leave a Reply

