Removing The Excess Baggage

September 6, 2007

I am proud of myself today.  Since last October I have been making small changes in my diet, and trying to sneak in some exercise, and I am down 20 pounds from my weight then.  I still have a long way to go, and I know I could do alot better, but it’s still an awesome feeling. 

Yesterday I managed to get rid of another kind of excess baggage.  I’m in a de-cluttering mood lately, and I re-organized the movies in our home.  I managed to purge a full diaper box of old VHS tapes the kids have never shown any interest in.  I’m still undecided if I will try to sell them via ebay, consignment, or yard sale, or if I will just say to heck with it and donate them to Goodwill.  One thing is certain, they’re not going back in the house.  Later in the evening I purged the boy’s bath toys down to what would fit in a smaller basket, thus giving us more room in the bathroom.

4 Responses to “Removing The Excess Baggage”


  1. CONGRATS!
    I start and stop and now I am at stop. lol

    I keep needing to get rid of some of the kids toys and I have a really harf
    time.

  2. alyson Says:

    My kids toys would overtake the world if I didn’t keep it in check. WIth so many aunts & uncles buying them stuff at all the holidays and things it gets crazy.

    I decided the donate the video tapes. If I put them in consignment and asked $1, I would only get 70 cents, and only 35 cents if they sold on 1/2 price day. So, for 35 cents it isn’t worth messing with tagging them!

    Last night I got all my Christmas stash (the gifts I’ve already bought) organized. I managed to get most of them on the top shelf of my closet, in boxes, rather than thrown haphazardly under my bed. I stirred up so much dust that I had to vacumn when I got done. We have a bagless vac, and when I got done the cup runneth over. lol.


  3. Sounds like here lately you have had a burst of energy!
    I have been needing to redo my bathroom since I moved in last Dec. The previous renter(s) painted it a very ugly cream yellow and handpainted dolphins around the sink. Anyway, yesterday I got up and eat one bowl of cereal and then “tackled it”. It took me about 5 hrs to complete it. (of course, I took a few breaks, lol) I am very proud of the end result but I still have to paint the trim white. I hope it doesn’t take me 8 months to do that!!!
    It felt really good to finally accomplish that. Next project is to tackle my daughters room. She is a pack rat. She keeps things because she can recyle it into something else. She is very creative BUT I can’t take it anymore.

    As for Christmas, I made my first “Christmas” purchase, a woman @ work daughter was selling stuff of the annual school fundrasier and I purchased a 70 piece bag gift set. Now I have to start buying gifts! LOL
    I really am not in the Christmas mood! YET…

  4. alyson Says:

    I have had a burst of energy after being sick and accomplishing nothing for a week or so, lol. But don’t be fooled, the rest of the house is still a disaster. Once I get something on my mind (such as organizing my gifts) I will let everything else go to the dogs until I get that one thing done. As I was cleaning the closet, the supper leftovers sat on the stove, and the dishes from last night were still on the table this morning when I left.
    I guess if anyone comes over we’ll all hang out in the closet, and avoid the rest of the house. lol.
    Good luck on your daughter’s room. I come from a long line of packrats, and I try my best to fight the urge to be one myself.
    J has such a large family that I have to shop all year. I’m always combing the clearance aisle at wallyworld. I keep up with my shopping on a spreadsheet with everyone’s name,and different color fonts if it’s an idea or if it is something I got for them, and hilighted fill on their name when I get done shopping for a person. Geeky, I know.


Leave a Reply

