Who’s The Boss?

August 30, 2007

Some days I feel I’m at the end of my rope with my oldest.  He has taken to screaming, yelling, hitting, and name calling alot lately when things don’t go his way.  Tuesday’s trip to the playground found him sitting on the bench for most of the time due to, first throwing rocks, then proceeding to call me “stupid mommy” repeatedly during his original 4 minute time-out sentence.  The tiniest thing seems to set him off.  When he’s good, he’s the best, but when he’s bad, watch out! 

Last night in the car he was doing something naughty, and in my frustration I asked, “Is that how Jesus wants you to act?”.  His reply:  “Well….Jesus isn’t my boss.”  I informed him that Jesus was his boss, as was I.  He then said, “God’s the boss, and Jesus is his son”.  I told him we would continue this discussion with our pastor when he recovers from his surgery.  Sometimes he makes ME want to scream! 

3 Responses to “Who’s The Boss?”


  1. His 4, isn’t he?
    Zach went through that stage. Of course, he is still 4 but soon to be 5 and I see a change in him.
    He still has his moments and some more than moments.

    I think that part of mine and Zach’s problem is that I have very little one on one time with him and when things are crazy and he wants me to notice him or play with him he acts through behavior he KNOWS will get my attention.
    Recently his newest thing is screaming in a high pitch squeel. Drives me nuts!!! I tell him to quite acting like a baby. (Doesn’t help him, but….lol…)
    I wish as I know you do too that I was able to be a stay at home mom. I think my children would act better, but then again….who really knows.

  2. alyson Says:

    I guess they’re almost the same age. C will be 5 in December.

    I’ve always heard that, to a child negative attention is better than no attention, and I’ve noticed C doing that alot lately.

    I think that too, about being a stay at home mom, but I don’t know. Some of the kids I know that were with mommy all the time act just like mine. At least it’s not just me!


  3. Yeah, you might be right.

    I can’t help but feel better when I see some other child acting like or worse than mine. Then I don’t feel so bad as a parent!

    All in all, I am proud of my children.


Leave a Reply

