My Time, With a Catch

August 27, 2007

As many of you read in a previous post, I love what I have come to call “my time”, and I got a lot of it yesterday.  The problem, I had to be at death’s door to get it.  I don’t get sick often, so when I do, it’s usually really bad.  Saturday at work I felt kinda off, but I chalked it up to not eating breakfast.  After work I went home and ate lunch, then we loaded up to go pick up my step-daughter.  By the time we got to her house I was feeling bad.  We did some shopping, during which time I began to feel progressively worse.  We went for supper at a pizza buffet restaurant, and by the time we got there I felt horrible.  Determined to not spoil the evening for the family, I tried to make the best of it, but even the water tasted bad.  To sum it up, I spent $6 to eat a small bowl of Jello. 

After arriving home and putting the youngest to bed I headed for bed myself, feeling awful.  I was nauseous, weak, and hot and cold at the same time.  I awoke at 11:00, and high-tailed it to the bathroom, where, too weak to stand, I sat on the toilet and puked in the trash can.  This process continued several times more during the night, sometimes vomiting, sometimes diarreha, sometimes both. 

I awoke Sunday morning feeling worse.  I suffer from a mild case of scoliosis, which makes lying down for over 7-8 hours very painful.  So, I was too weak to stand, but it was too painful to sit or lie down.  Talk about your catch 22.  Any attempts I made to take any kind of medicine promptly came back up into the trash can.  I have had 2 children via C-section, and this was worse.  About 1:00 my wonderful husband offered to take the boys to his sisters house for a visit that afternoon.  He said it was to give me a break, but I’m sure he was just tired of my pouting.  Either way, I didn’t really care.  I eventually found a way to dull the pain in my back with a heating pad, which gave me enough relief to go to sleep, which is how I spent the afternoon. 

I’m feeling better today, although still a bit under the weather.  I did manage to drag myself into work, however, if my employer offered paid sick days, I would not have.  On the bright side, I am truly blessed that I don’t get sick often, considering that I have 2 small kids and a husband that works in a germ-infested school.  And, I lost 4 pounds!

6 Responses to “My Time, With a Catch”


  1. Sounds like you got the dreaded stomach virus that is going around.
    A couple of months ago I got a similar virus and began to think that I was going to die.
    I wish my work offered sick time also. Missing those two days of work put my finaneses in a bind and I am just now recovering from that. lol
    ————

    BTW: as far as only us 3 reading your blog, I wouldn’t count on that lasting. When the others discover your talent with finding the humor in life, they will be drawn to your site as bees are to honey. lol

    HOPE YOU FEEL BETTER SOON!!!!

  2. alyson Says:

    Yeah, the girl I called to teach my ss class yesterday works at the clinic and she said there was alot of it going around. J was trying to talk me out of coming to work, but this is our “bad” week money wise, and I really needed to show up. It makes it really hard when you can’t take off when you’re sick. I know some people take advantage of sick days, but I still believe they should be offered.

    Thanks for the compliment! I didn’t realize how much I would like blogging. Now when something happens I can’t wait to write about it.

  3. Brian Says:

    So glad you’re feeling better. I had a stomach virus a few months ago and that stuff sucks!! I also felt like I was going to die, which is a scary feeling. If death feels that bad I hope it’s in the distant future.

    SD is right – once people figure out about your site, watch out! You’ve always been able to find the humor in any situation and you convey that very well in your articles. 😉


  4. LOL

    Sound like you also caught “Blog Fever”!!!

    How come we always get sick on a week when we really need the money and not the week that we can afford to miss a day or two???? LOL (Not sure when that would be but we can dream, can’t we?)

    Yes, I know that some people might take advantage of it, but we should at least get one hour of time for everyday we work, kind of like bonus points for coming to work and get to use them in emergency type situations.
    It should be government mandated that employers have to do it, no different then breaks and lunches. Wouldn’t that be nice!!!!

  5. Brian Says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! I tried to comment yesterday, but they kept disappearing.

    Liz is right about your blog. Once people catch on, watch out! You have a knack for finding the humor in any situation. 😉

  6. Alyson Says:

    Thanks guys.

    I don’t know when that week would be either Liz.

    More on my illness later


Leave a Reply

