“Bad Guys”

August 14, 2007

“Michael’s Uncle Glen kills bad guys” my 4 year old son Connor told me, quite matter of factly, over last night’s dinner.  Michael is my sons best friend.  His mother babysits my kids in her home while I work, and he and Connor are only 2 days apart in age.  Glen is in the National Guard, and is currently in Iraq.  So, my son was just stating the facts, but his statement caught me off guard. I had to sit there and think for a minute how to best respond.  I didn’t want him to think it was okay for people to go around killing each other, but at the same time I didn’t want to degrade the men and women who are doing their jobs, so that we can sit down to dinner without fear of being bombed.  I wanted to convey that while I don’t support the war itself, I am thankful that there are people out there defending our freedom.  I knew that with him having the attention span of a four year old, there wasn’t alot of time for me to sit and ponder over my reply.  I also knew I didn’t want the opportunity to pass me by, so I quickly stammered that, he was right, that is what Glen does, and we should be thankful for men and women that lay their lives on the line for us, then I added that I hope there comes a day when nobody has to “kill bad guys”. 

2 Responses to ““Bad Guys””

  1. Brian Says:

    Very good reply. Alan thinks you’re a great mom and so do I. 🙂

  2. Alyson Says:

    You’re both so sweet. And one day when Connor asks again I’ll tell him you’re not brothers. LOL.


Leave a Reply

