My Time

August 10, 2007

I’ve always been a homebody.  When I got old enough to stay “home alone” I often had to be coerced into going anywhere with my family.  It wasn’t that I didn’t like them, or was embarassed by them, but the thought of free reign in an empty house appealed to me more than going to a movie or something.  Being able to watch what I wanted, turn the radio as loud as I wanted, or just walk around in my underwear was a welcome respite from my family life. 

Now, as a married woman that works opposite shift as my husband, has 2 kids and 2 stepkids, my “alone time” is VERY rare.  So rare that if it were a steak, a good vet could get it back on it’s feet in an hour.  Which is why I am SO looking forward to this afternoon.  My mom is taking my boys  to a  movie, then going to pick up my stepdaughter for me.  I’ve been thinking about it all week, and by my calculations I am going to get about 1 hour of “me” time.  Nobody in the house but ME!! 

I’m like a kid with ADD.  I don’t know what to do.  I should go grocery shopping, or go visit my grandma, but I have the urge to be home alone.  I need to work on cleaning the house, inside and out.  With the remodeling going on, plus not having a washer for 2 weeks, there are tools scattered all over the house, and the couch is MIA, last seen somewhere in the vicinity of “laundry mountain”.   Additionally, our carport is still an obsacle course due to the family gathering we hosted 2 weeks ago, the cook out that finally broke up in the wee hours of Saturday morning, mere hours before the water lines backed up into our bathroom.  However, as much as I like to clean, and go insane without organization, I hate the idea of spending my “special time” cleaning.  So, I may catch up on some of the sleep that I’ve missed over the years, or watch some TV that’s not Nickelodeon or The Disney Channel.  I even thought about taking a bubble bath or fooling around with the piano that has hardly been touched for the last 5 years. 

Eventhough I don’t yet know what I will do with my hour or so, I do know that, even if I’m just cleaning house, it’s MY time.  I won’t have to stop working to break up a fist-fight, or make anyone chocolate milk.  And, I can turn the Bon Jovi up, and sing off key as loud as I want with no one there to laugh at me for one full hour of bliss. 

4 Responses to “My Time”

  1. Brian Says:

    This post made me laugh out loud! How did you wind up spending “your time”?

  2. Alyson Says:

    I think I should classify it as, “all of the above”. I turned on a syndicated sitcom and minutes later lapsed into a power nap. I woke up about 1/2 hour later and worked on some dishes. I had just finished re-loading the dishwasher when the boys arrived.


  3. I could so identify with you about “my time”

    Although I have more “my time” then I want sometimes!

    However, you should NEVER feel guilt about your “my time”

    Everyone deserves an occational time alone to do whatever you want!!!

    Great post!!!

  4. alyson Says:

    Thanks! We mommies really deserve to relax once in a while.


Leave a Reply

