Home Depot Saved My Marriage

August 3, 2007

We haven’t even looked at flooring for our flooded utility/bathroom yet, and it’s already causing tension in the house.  Last night my husband returned the borrowed tools to our local handyman.  While there they began disucssing our need for new flooring.  The man showed my husband his newly installed bathroom flooring, which is apparently the greatest thing since sliced bread.  It’s really sturdy, interlocking, and goes down in 4′ lengths without you having to do any prep work on the floor.  Sounded great, until Mr. handyman called a local flooring store to get the price.  There’s the rub, it’s 3 times more expensive than plain old linoleium.

You see where this is going.  In this corner you have me, Mrs. “we’re already strpped financially and I don’t believe we should put 3x as much on the credit card just so we don’t have to do as much work”.  Hereby known as Mrs. Frugal.

In the other corner we have my spouse, Mr. “I have bad knees and this will be SO easy,  it’s going to be impossible to get all that carpet glue off the floor, and this way we don’t have to worry about it.” Hereby known as, Mr. Pain in the Knees.

Mr. Pain in the knees v/s Mrs. Frugal, Round 1:

Ding Ding Ding

We each plead our cases, mine being the $ issue, his being the minimal effort required, and how that would be a wonderful help to his aching knees.  This goes on for several minutes.  Then, I get a flash of genius and decide to call a friend of ours who is the flooring manager of our local home improvement superstore.  He says the type of flooring is great, and gives us a price which is lower than the other place, but still over twice the cost of linoleium. 

We discuss it some more, with lots of raised voices, and some mumbling under our breath.  I try to convince Mr Knees that I DO indeed realize it has to be done this weekend, but I want to spend as little money as possible.  Espically after discovering the cabinet around the sink was also waterlogged and will have to be replaced also.  We eventually decide that we have 2 choices, 1.  to table the discussion, 2.  Contact a divorce lawyer.  Being as it was after 7:00 and lawyers charge more for after hours services, we choose the former.

 Which brings me to today.  I have found our savior, and it is in the form of a home improvement megastore.  More specifically, their “6 months no payment on interest” offer.  We get the “good” floor, and can pay on it over the course of the year, or even with my Christmas bonus, and it doesn’t cost us a dime extra.  Thank you Home Depot!

3 Responses to “Home Depot Saved My Marriage”

  1. Brian Says:

    LMAO! Great story. Glad HD came through for you.

  2. Alan Says:

    I would have gone with the cheaper flooring and the fanciest pair of knee pads money can buy. 😀

  3. Alyson Says:

    @ Alan: LOL! I didn’t think of that.


Leave a Reply

