Required Reading

January 5, 2014

Some of you on my blogroll are such good readers.  Always posting at the end of the year a list of all the books you read in the previous 365 days, and making me feel all guilty because I’m a total slacker.  I can only think of 3 (non-children’s)books that I read last year:  Tina Fey’s, “Bossypants”, an Amish fiction book I borrowed from a friend, and Willie Robertson’s book (Don’t judge me).  So I decided that I am going to do better in 2014.  

On a recent trip to the library with my children I checked out 3 of the most un-similar books imaginable, proving that I am incredibly well rounded.  I finished one of the books in a matter of days, and since I read over half of it in 2014, I’m counting it on this year’s tally. The book was, “An Abundance of Katherine’s” by John Green, and I LOVED IT.  Although at 36 years of age I’m much older than Mr. Green’s target audience, some of my younger friends and relatives are always talking about how wonderful his works are, and I had to see for myself, and guess what?  You should too, no matter how old you are.  Being as I was feeling particularly blue as I was finishing the book, this particular quote near the end really resonated with me:  

“And so we all matter-maybe less than a lot, but always more than none.”

 

 

3 Responses to “Required Reading”

  1. Brian Says:

    I spend countless hours reading in the bathtub every year, which is why my reading list is so long. ;)

    You HAVE to read “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green. I was so impressed I bought two copies of it to give away. I am going to read “An Abundance of Katherines” based on your recommendation.

  2. Alyson Says:

    The bathtub is my favorite place too! Although, since I don’t have an awesome water heater like you do it gets real cold real fast. I fantasize about having a huge garden tub. lol.

    I will definitely check that one out. I plan to devour all his books. My neice told me that Katherine’s is his funniest novel.


  3. […] like John Green’s “An Abundance of Katherine’s“, I found my favorite quote in this selection near the end of the book.  Ms. Burnett’s […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

